Why background google web connections when Iron starts?

Iron Forum for english speaking people

winston
Posts: 2
Joined: Thu Dec 10, 2015 12:42 am

Why background google web connections when Iron starts?

Post by winston »

Guys when I start Iron browser first time after a PC boot, two web connections happen in the background to google websites:

chrome.exe 960 TCP hostname 1027 android.clients.google.com https ESTABLISHED 7 507 4 698
chrome.exe 960 TCP hostname 1026 mtalk.google.com 5228 ESTABLISHED 2 505 4 543

Is there something buried in your code that allows this phone home? Or is this just a setting I have made?
winston
Posts: 2
Joined: Thu Dec 10, 2015 12:42 am

Re: Why background google web connections when Iron starts?

Post by winston »

Ok this is my crappy fix for this in the HOSTS file, but you really need to review your code and remove the code that causes the browser to send data to google when it starts.

# [my go away google assets entries]
127.0.0.1 android.clients.google.com
127.0.0.1 clients.google.com
127.0.0.1 mtalk.google.com

I am left wondering if you truly do remove the code from Chromium that reports information directly to google websites as part of their big data trawl.
DDT
Posts: 1
Joined: Sun Jan 17, 2016 7:12 am

Re: Why background google web connections when Iron starts?

Post by DDT »

I also query this issue?

I see there is no response from the development team, however it is clear that Iron does open two connections to a google server at start up - even if the startup page is set to blank, and no registration to a google account is (and has ever) done?

What is going on here? I have stopped using Iron because of this issue - which is sad as the browser is otherwise very cool.
devil1979
Posts: 3
Joined: Sun Jun 14, 2015 7:59 am

Re: Why background google web connections when Iron starts?

Post by devil1979 »

I too would like to know what this is about, and Why this is being ignored?
Toriatama
Posts: 10
Joined: Wed Feb 19, 2014 4:32 am

Re: Why background google web connections when Iron starts?

Post by Toriatama »

+1

I would like to know too.

Also, I've never used iron Google login feature since it *looks like* it would compromise privacy and all the work made by srware team to protect users from Google. So I never understand why it had to be implemented and how safe it is (which difference is I use Google account on Google Chrome?).
devil1979
Posts: 3
Joined: Sun Jun 14, 2015 7:59 am

Re: Why background google web connections when Iron starts?

Post by devil1979 »

The fact that this has gone unanswered is enough of a red flag to keep me away from Iron.
ironic
Posts: 14
Joined: Fri Dec 04, 2015 10:31 pm

Re: Why background google web connections when Iron starts?

Post by ironic »

So this guy touts Iron and about security and privacy and verifying it with Wireshark and blah, blah, blah…and doesn't even bother to answer when users complain and provide proof about outgoing connections to google?!? What a joke! If Iron is more like aluminium then just give up the project :evil: :roll:
User avatar
SRWare
Site Admin
Posts: 2832
Joined: Sat Jan 19, 2008 4:16 am

Re: Why background google web connections when Iron starts?

Post by SRWare »

Iron Backup & Config Tool:

Image

Should speak for itself. So the servers get nothing. It's just like a simple anonymous download.
Iron-Updates via Twitter: http://twitter.com/srware

Donations via Paypal and Bitcoin:
http://iron-start.com/spenden.php
ironic
Posts: 14
Joined: Fri Dec 04, 2015 10:31 pm

Re: Why background google web connections when Iron starts?

Post by ironic »

No, it doesn't. I use OS X and didn't find such option. And regardless, when a user starts Iron it should warn about those connections instead of silently allowing them to pass.
ironic
Posts: 14
Joined: Fri Dec 04, 2015 10:31 pm

Re: Why background google web connections when Iron starts?

Post by ironic »

Is it really that hard to answer if this is supported on OS X?
Post Reply