Page 1 of 9

HOW TO ACTIVATE PPAPI-FLASH

Posted: Mon May 04, 2015 3:13 pm
by SRWare
HOW TO ENABLE PPAPI-FLASH

Windows:
1. Download PPAPI Flash: https://admdownload.adobe.com/bin/live/ ... nstall.exe
2. Close Iron, then run the setup. Everything works out of the box!

--------------------

Linux:

Ubuntu-Systems:

Code: Select all

sudo add-apt-repository "deb http://archive.canonical.com/ubuntu $(lsb_release -sc) partner"
sudo apt-get update
sudo apt-get install adobe-flashplugin


Linux Mint-Systems:

Code: Select all

sudo apt-get install adobe-flashplugin


Other Linuxes:
1) Get a fresh version from http://archive.canonical.com/ubuntu/poo ... ashplugin/ (scroll down to the bottom to the .tar.gz, works on all distributions even it's from ubuntu) or from https://get.adobe.com/de/flashplayer/otherversions/ (PPAPI)
2) Extract the files containing your architecture to /usr/lib/adobe-flashplugin/

Flash is disabled by default on most websites in newer builds, you have to activate it:
Image

--------------------

Mac:
1) Install PPAPI-Flash for MAC: https://fpdownload.adobe.com/get/flashp ... _ppapi.dmg
2) Start Iron. New version autodetects Flash

Re: HOW TO ACTIVATE PPAPI-FLASH

Posted: Tue May 05, 2015 4:39 pm
by alx_max
I have noticed the PPAPI Flash plugin was installed in the same directory as the NPAPI plugin: c:\Windows\System32\Macromed\Flash for the 64 bit architecture and c:\Windows\SysWOW64\Macromed\Flash for the 32 bit one. Personally, I have never changed the intallation directory of the PPAPI plugin so chances are many people did the same. Consequently, I wonder if Iron or Chrome can be set in a simple way to load automatically the PPAPI plugin if it exists instead of the NPAPI one without using the command line parameters.

Re: HOW TO ACTIVATE PPAPI-FLASH

Posted: Wed May 06, 2015 1:07 pm
by SRWare
alx_max wrote:I wonder if Iron or Chrome can be set in a simple way to load automatically the PPAPI plugin if it exists instead of the NPAPI one without using the command line parameters.


Should be autodetected from Iron/Chromium 44 and above

Re: HOW TO ACTIVATE PPAPI-FLASH

Posted: Wed May 13, 2015 1:05 am
by KonradCares
As the user above (notme) has said, it made little difference when I put the quote tags in.

I did try a few times, but not luck.

Is there any chance you could provide some simple instructional picture screenshots to help?
Sorry to be a bother.

Re: HOW TO ACTIVATE PPAPI-FLASH

Posted: Wed May 13, 2015 1:28 pm
by NotMe
Seems like I've found the issue.

You have to start Iron as Adminstrator in Windows Vista and above.
Otherwise Iron has no permission to read in C:/Windows/SysWOW64

Try it.

Re: HOW TO ACTIVATE PPAPI-FLASH

Posted: Wed May 13, 2015 2:36 pm
by KonradCares
I followed Rookies instructions and it worked? I can't really tell what the difference between today and yesterday was.

Except for 169 and 188 in the shortcut (whatever that is)

Re: HOW TO ACTIVATE PPAPI-FLASH

Posted: Wed May 13, 2015 5:34 pm
by SRWare
KonradCares wrote:I followed Rookies instructions and it worked? I can't really tell what the difference between today and yesterday was.

Except for 169 and 188 in the shortcut (whatever that is)


Adobe released a new flash Version (188 instead of version 169)

Re: HOW TO ACTIVATE PPAPI-FLASH

Posted: Mon May 18, 2015 9:27 am
by KonradCares
Flash is crashing again :geek:
Did it break?

Re: HOW TO ACTIVATE PPAPI-FLASH

Posted: Sat May 23, 2015 12:16 am
by sardelkin
Image
Image
not work for me

Re: HOW TO ACTIVATE PPAPI-FLASH

Posted: Tue Jun 09, 2015 5:44 pm
by SRWare
Iron 43 now autodetects PPAPI FLASH