HOW TO ACTIVATE PPAPI-FLASH

Iron Forum for english speaking people
User avatar
SRWare
Site Admin
Posts: 2445
Joined: Sat Jan 19, 2008 4:16 am

Re: HOW TO ACTIVATE PPAPI-FLASH

Postby SRWare » Mon Sep 19, 2016 8:01 pm

gigel wrote:after updating portable windows version 52 to 53, flash stopped working. "couldn't load plugin" message is displayed where flash should be.


do you use the latest flash?
Iron-Updates via Twitter: http://twitter.com/srware

Donations via Paypal and Bitcoin:
http://iron-start.com/spenden.php


Michael8310
Posts: 2
Joined: Mon Sep 19, 2016 7:10 am

Re: HOW TO ACTIVATE PPAPI-FLASH

Postby Michael8310 » Tue Sep 20, 2016 6:03 pm

I've temporarily "solved" my problem by rolling back to Flashplayer v.22, using Iron v.49, since XP is "no longer supported".
Yay! Force me to invest in a new computer & OS. Or, maybe I'll just stop using PC so much and do more productive things.
Who knows?


User avatar
SRWare
Site Admin
Posts: 2445
Joined: Sat Jan 19, 2008 4:16 am

Re: HOW TO ACTIVATE PPAPI-FLASH

Postby SRWare » Tue Sep 20, 2016 6:20 pm

Michael8310 wrote:I've temporarily "solved" my problem by rolling back to Flashplayer v.22, using Iron v.49, since XP is "no longer supported".
Yay! Force me to invest in a new computer & OS. Or, maybe I'll just stop using PC so much and do more productive things.
Who knows?


A computer which runs Windows XP should also be able to run Windows 10

Runs even on a Pentium 4 from 2004:
https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=73YHm96H8Zs
Iron-Updates via Twitter: http://twitter.com/srware

Donations via Paypal and Bitcoin:
http://iron-start.com/spenden.php


Mike_Walsh
Posts: 10
Joined: Tue Nov 29, 2016 12:57 pm

Re: HOW TO ACTIVATE PPAPI-FLASH

Postby Mike_Walsh » Tue Nov 29, 2016 4:29 pm

Hi, SRWare.

Got a query here for you; no doubt it's been asked before, but I'm going to ask it anyway.

What's the reasoning behind using the /usr/lib/adobe-flashplugin location for Pepper.....and putting PPAPI in with NPAPI versions of Flash? I'm just curious, that's all.

I run Puppy Linux; in fact I multi-boot several of them. I run multiple Chromium-based browsers, too; Chrome, Chromium, Slimjet.....and now Iron. (Which I really like..!)

I run a single, 'common' install of each of these, on a remote partition, sym-linked into each Pup, as though they were installed locally. Works nicely. Chrome, Chromium, and SlimJet all use the PepperFlash directory.....so through further sym-linking, I only need to update one instance of PepperFlash in order for all browsers to be be up-to-date.

Iron's the 'pig in a poke' here, I'm afraid..! With Pepper being located in /usr/lib/adobe-flashplugin, it's the only one I have to update separately.....

As I said, I'm just curious as the reason for using a different location.


Mike. ;)


User avatar
SRWare
Site Admin
Posts: 2445
Joined: Sat Jan 19, 2008 4:16 am

Re: HOW TO ACTIVATE PPAPI-FLASH

Postby SRWare » Tue Nov 29, 2016 5:14 pm

Mike_Walsh wrote:Hi, SRWare.

Got a query here for you; no doubt it's been asked before, but I'm going to ask it anyway.

What's the reasoning behind using the /usr/lib/adobe-flashplugin location for Pepper.....and putting PPAPI in with NPAPI versions of Flash? I'm just curious, that's all.

I run Puppy Linux; in fact I multi-boot several of them. I run multiple Chromium-based browsers, too; Chrome, Chromium, Slimjet.....and now Iron. (Which I really like..!)

I run a single, 'common' install of each of these, on a remote partition, sym-linked into each Pup, as though they were installed locally. Works nicely. Chrome, Chromium, and SlimJet all use the PepperFlash directory.....so through further sym-linking, I only need to update one instance of PepperFlash in order for all browsers to be be up-to-date.

Iron's the 'pig in a poke' here, I'm afraid..! With Pepper being located in /usr/lib/adobe-flashplugin, it's the only one I have to update separately.....

As I said, I'm just curious as the reason for using a different location.


Mike. ;)


Hi Mike,

i want to say at first thanks for all your feedback!

/usr/lib/adobe-flashplugin is used and updated automatically by Ubuntu/Debian based Distributions from their package management system and so we also use this as directory because Chromium for Linux has no system-wide path like on Windows/Mac (and we want to provide flash autodetection ).

Regarding to "and putting PPAPI in with NPAPI versions of Flash". We don't put them in by ourself. If you use a .deb package then it's done by them and should be also up-to-date because this packages exacty use this path. Otherwise maybe you can make an additional symlink or copy the files via a cronjob regular.
Iron-Updates via Twitter: http://twitter.com/srware

Donations via Paypal and Bitcoin:
http://iron-start.com/spenden.php


Mike_Walsh
Posts: 10
Joined: Tue Nov 29, 2016 12:57 pm

Re: HOW TO ACTIVATE PPAPI-FLASH

Postby Mike_Walsh » Tue Nov 29, 2016 5:33 pm

Hi, SRWare.

/usr/lib/adobe-flashplugin is used and updated automatically by Ubuntu/Debian based Distributions from their package management system and so we also use this as directory because Chromium for Linux has no system-wide path like on Windows/Mac (and we want to provide flash autodetection ).


Mm. Yah, that figures, actually (now I think about it). I know Pepper doesn't come as standard with Chromium (which is what many of the 'clones' are directly based on). Another acquaintance on the Puppy Forum packages Chromium itself for the community; he has to create the PepperFlash directory, install libpepflashplayer.so and manifest.json to it, then 'point' Chromium to it via the '--ppapi-flash-path' switch in the wrapper-script. A complete PITA.....but at least we can directly d/l Pepper nowadays, instead of having to d/l Chrome, strip Pepper out, then dump the rest of it (wasting bandwidth in the process).

It's progress of a sort, at least.....I guess. :lol:


Mike. ;)


Childe_Roland
Posts: 5
Joined: Fri Aug 25, 2017 11:38 am

Re: HOW TO ACTIVATE PPAPI-FLASH

Postby Childe_Roland » Fri Aug 25, 2017 1:03 pm

I'm on Windows 10 and Flash doesn't update/work with the newest Iron version. Is there a way to fix this on Iron? None of the instructions for chrome work. Flash doesn't show up in chrome://components and the installer doesn't work.


User avatar
SRWare
Site Admin
Posts: 2445
Joined: Sat Jan 19, 2008 4:16 am

Re: HOW TO ACTIVATE PPAPI-FLASH

Postby SRWare » Fri Aug 25, 2017 5:23 pm

Childe_Roland wrote:I'm on Windows 10 and Flash doesn't update/work with the newest Iron version. Is there a way to fix this on Iron? None of the instructions for chrome work. Flash doesn't show up in chrome://components and the installer doesn't work.


what says
chrome://flash/

?
Iron-Updates via Twitter: http://twitter.com/srware

Donations via Paypal and Bitcoin:
http://iron-start.com/spenden.php


Childe_Roland
Posts: 5
Joined: Fri Aug 25, 2017 11:38 am

Re: HOW TO ACTIVATE PPAPI-FLASH

Postby Childe_Roland » Fri Aug 25, 2017 7:10 pm

SRWare wrote:
Childe_Roland wrote:I'm on Windows 10 and Flash doesn't update/work with the newest Iron version. Is there a way to fix this on Iron? None of the instructions for chrome work. Flash doesn't show up in chrome://components and the installer doesn't work.


what says
chrome://flash/

?

It says I have version 26.0.0.123, which is out of date and so it won't work anymore, it just says that it can't load the plug-in. When I try to update with the installer, it says I have to uninstall flash first then says I don't have the necessary permission to change something or other. The instructions I found for that say they won't work on anything higher than Windows 7. When I update Chrome the flash updater gives an error saying that it's an outdated updater. Is there a way to fix this manually, or do I have to use Icedragon for flash until a new version of the browser comes out that has the updated version of flash working correctly?

At one point it said that I had version 27.0.0.1, but then that stopped working for some reason. I don't know how that happened or why it stopped working.


Childe_Roland
Posts: 5
Joined: Fri Aug 25, 2017 11:38 am

Re: HOW TO ACTIVATE PPAPI-FLASH

Postby Childe_Roland » Mon Aug 28, 2017 12:03 am

Childe_Roland wrote:
SRWare wrote:
Childe_Roland wrote:I'm on Windows 10 and Flash doesn't update/work with the newest Iron version. Is there a way to fix this on Iron? None of the instructions for chrome work. Flash doesn't show up in chrome://components and the installer doesn't work.


what says
chrome://flash/

?


I'd have just edited this, but apparently I can't. It seems to have updated in the background and now it's working and says I have Flash 27.0.0.117. This despite Adobe's website saying that the latest Flash is only version 26.0.0.151. Does anyone have a clue what's going on? If it's supposed to do that, could you let us know, and if it isn't, maybe it's something to look at.



Return to “SRWare Iron Support (English)”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 13 guests