New Iron-Version: 39.0.2100.0 Stable for Windows

Iron Forum for english speaking people
AuditoreDaFirenze
Posts: 26
Joined: Sun Oct 14, 2012 2:24 am

Re: New Iron-Version: 39.0.2100.0 Stable for Windows

Postby AuditoreDaFirenze » Thu Dec 18, 2014 8:03 pm

Unfortunately, and believe me when I say this, but I give up from Iron. So much problems in the last versions. Maybe try again in future, for now Firefox is serving me very well.


RazerAnansi
Posts: 79
Joined: Tue Dec 27, 2011 6:29 pm

Re: New Iron-Version: 39.0.2100.0 Stable for Windows

Postby RazerAnansi » Fri Dec 19, 2014 2:05 am

bugman wrote:On a completely separate note to update my thoughts on the Iron fork to include support for widevine and possibly other plugins. Here is what arrived in my inbox a few moments ago.

Comment #16 on issue 429452 by fabian.r...@gmail.com: Purchased youtube video plays in chrome but not in chromium (correct .gyp settings & identical version)
https://code.google.com/p/chromium/issu ... ?id=429452

I am the original person filing the bug: I've fixed it in the mean time. It's just a few gyp flag changes and simple modifications to the gyp files. It will take some time until I can post a clean diff but here are the things I remember:

1) build with the following gyp flags:
ffmpeg_branding='Chrome', proprietary_codecs=1, enable_pepper_cdms=1, enable_webrtc=1

2) Uncomment the version number and strings in src/third_party/widevine/cdm/widevine_cdm_common.h and change it to which ever binary version you have available. I installed the vanilla google-chrome debian package from Google and used the version string and number found in chrome://plugins/

3) in the same folder modify widevine_cdm.gyp. Change 'branding == "Chrome"' to 'branding == "Chromium" in line 10 and 88 (not sure if this is really necessary)

4) When compiling Chromium it will complain about a missing widevine binaries folder (can't remember where it was meant to be located). Create it and copy the binaries over from chrome. It will also complain about missing widevine_cdm_version.h and/or widevine_cdm_common.h. Just copy widevine_cdm_common.h you edited above to the location expected by the build system.

5) after building, test by watching purchased video on youtube and/or netflix. If we are packaging this as open source (for debian for example), remove the widevine binaries from the out/Release folder and create another non-free package just for the widevine binaries as is being done for pepperflash.

I'm sorry for not providing a patch for this but I am travelling on a netbook with limited resources and creating a patch and testing it would take weeks of compiling.

Hope this helps!


I hope this further information can provide some useful insights in the future on further discussions of widevine and any possible forks.


--Thanks for the info and update bugman.
Windows 7 64 Ultimate
Intel Core 2 Q6600
Asus P5N-D
4GB-OCZ-DDR2
XFX R9 270X


RazerAnansi
Posts: 79
Joined: Tue Dec 27, 2011 6:29 pm

Re: New Iron-Version: 39.0.2100.0 Stable for Windows

Postby RazerAnansi » Fri Dec 19, 2014 2:07 am

Azrael5 wrote:Is there a way to get original Iron 32.0.1750.0?


viewtopic.php?t=7502
Windows 7 64 Ultimate
Intel Core 2 Q6600
Asus P5N-D
4GB-OCZ-DDR2
XFX R9 270X


howiem
Posts: 2
Joined: Mon Oct 27, 2014 10:08 pm

Re: Menu toolbar

Postby howiem » Fri Dec 19, 2014 4:26 am

I recently installed SRWare Iron which I had not tried for a long time. I can see the three horizontal bars (Control and customization icon) at the upper right, but i there also supposed to be a wrench icon?

And is there a way to change the view to no style as in Firefox??


turold
Posts: 13
Joined: Sun Nov 17, 2013 2:21 am
Location: France

Re: New Iron-Version: 39.0.2100.0 Stable for Windows

Postby turold » Fri Dec 19, 2014 11:44 pm

RazerAnansi wrote:
Azrael5 wrote:Is there a way to get original Iron 32.0.1750.0?


viewtopic.php?t=7502

No, because http://www.srware.net/downloads/srware_iron.exe is always the latest version.
Try it: Old Iron versions - official archive - here!
I'm French, sorry for my english homemade.


65536
Posts: 5
Joined: Tue Dec 23, 2014 10:33 am

Re: New Iron-Version: 39.0.2100.0 Stable for Windows

Postby 65536 » Tue Dec 23, 2014 10:37 am

This version is pure crap, can't load any video on youtube (adobe flash player video player).
Switched back to v38.


65536
Posts: 5
Joined: Tue Dec 23, 2014 10:33 am

Re: New Iron-Version: 39.0.2100.0 Stable for Windows

Postby 65536 » Tue Dec 23, 2014 5:09 pm

Forget to mention that each time yt page crashes with "snap, page has crached" (tryed clean install & upgrade)), thus it is unusable.


bugman
Posts: 200
Joined: Sat Nov 01, 2008 9:20 pm

Re: New Iron-Version: 39.0.2100.0 Stable for Windows

Postby bugman » Thu Dec 25, 2014 3:48 pm

Anyone else having issues getting treato.com and all its sub pages to load correctly ?


marco.bartholomew
Posts: 3
Joined: Thu Dec 25, 2014 6:54 pm

Re: New Iron-Version: 39.0.2100.0 Stable for Windows

Postby marco.bartholomew » Thu Dec 25, 2014 7:17 pm

Wow, can't say how pleased I am with this version, it's been two days and it hasn't crashed once, I'm sure my blood pressure is down.

What a great christmas present

For those still having problems, so sorry, I feel your pain

treato.com seems to load fine for me, fwiw


tpcr
Posts: 2
Joined: Tue May 21, 2013 5:29 pm

Re: New Iron-Version: 39.0.2100.0 Stable for Windows

Postby tpcr » Sat Dec 27, 2014 9:57 pm

Just updated from version 35 & have encountered a couple of issue(s)

1. Lost all open tabs, as it defaulted to (Open a specific page or set of pages) instead of keeping my preferred choice of (Continue where I left off)

2. All my extensions have been deleted, including adblockerplus

Can you advise how I get these back ??

So far I have lost a bit of faith in SRWare Iron, since these basic issue(s) should not be present, since latest versions of Google Chrome keeps these settings

bugman wrote:Anyone else having issues getting treato.com and all its sub pages to load correctly ?


It loads correctly for me

65536 wrote:This version is pure crap, can't load any video on youtube (adobe flash player video player).
Switched back to v38.


Youtube videos work perfectly for me,

What steps did you try to troubleshoot your issue(s) with youtube ??

Can you link to one or more of the actual videos that does not work for you ??



Return to “SRWare Iron Support (English)”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 4 guests