v70.0.3650.1 - Whatsapp Web Wrong version identified

Iron Forum for english speaking people
dph3057
Posts: 19
Joined: Mon Dec 10, 2018 12:00 pm

v70.0.3650.1 - Whatsapp Web Wrong version identified

Postby dph3057 » Mon Dec 10, 2018 12:10 pm

Whatsapp web returns an unsupported version of Chrome. http://www.web. whatsapp.com

Is this something I can fix by changing a setting or do the iron folks need to change the way iron reports its version?

Thx.

Image


dph3057
Posts: 19
Joined: Mon Dec 10, 2018 12:00 pm

Re: v70.0.3650.1 - Whatsapp Web Wrong version identified

Postby dph3057 » Mon Dec 10, 2018 3:57 pm

Fixed temporarily by creating a link using the iron updater extension to start Iron with a different user_agent string.

"C:\Program Files\SRWare Iron (64-Bit)\chrome.exe" --user-agent="Mozilla/5.0 (Windows NT 10.0; Win64; x64) AppleWebKit/537.36 (KHTML, like Gecko) Chrome/70.0.3650.1 Safari/537.36"


Berto
Posts: 3
Joined: Fri Apr 26, 2013 5:50 pm

Re: v70.0.3650.1 - Whatsapp Web Wrong version identified

Postby Berto » Tue Dec 18, 2018 6:57 pm

This got me too, and I use web.whatsapp.com all the time. Can anyone help with a workaround, or at least more specific instructions? I use both Linux and Windows.

In Windows, the method above didn't work, but I didn't use the iron updater extension (not sure what that has to do with it)...

Thanks!


distrip
Posts: 4
Joined: Thu Dec 20, 2018 1:26 pm

Re: v70.0.3650.1 - Whatsapp Web Wrong version identified

Postby distrip » Thu Dec 20, 2018 1:34 pm

It seems that that tip from Dec 10, 2018 doesn't work any more. And user-agent-extensions don't do the trick either. So WhatsApp is doing something additional to determine the browser. How can we fix this?


Dimiko
Posts: 1
Joined: Thu Jan 03, 2019 1:58 pm

Re: v70.0.3650.1 - Whatsapp Web Wrong version identified

Postby Dimiko » Thu Jan 03, 2019 3:09 pm

The same problem here.

Trying to switch user-agent with command line option --user-agent= does change the user-agent string as expected.
Websites like https://www.whoishostingthis.com/tools/user-agent/ report the changed string.
JavaScript get user-agent snippets like https://stackoverflow.com/questions/9450066/getting-the-user-agent-with-javascript also report the changed string.

Tried with different strings from "Edge" and "Chrome Portable" that still work with web.whats.com:

Code: Select all

chrome.exe --user-agent="Mozilla/5.0 (Windows NT 10.0; Win64; x64) AppleWebKit/537.36 (KHTML, like Gecko) Chrome/64.0.3282.140 Safari/537.36 Edge/18.17763"

Code: Select all

chrome.exe --user-agent="Mozilla/5.0 (Windows NT 10.0; WOW64) AppleWebKit/537.36 (KHTML, like Gecko) Chrome/69.0.3497.100 Safari/537.36"

BUT: web.whatsapp.com still does present the above error message.
I think this confirms, that whatsapp is checking something else.

dph3057 wrote: Fixed temporarily by creating a link using the iron updater extension to start Iron with a different user_agent string.

@dph3057: I have no idea how updater extension can start iron ... please detail if your solution still works for you.

Solution very much appreciated. Thanks.


dph3057
Posts: 19
Joined: Mon Dec 10, 2018 12:00 pm

Re: v70.0.3650.1 - Whatsapp Web Wrong version identified

Postby dph3057 » Sun Jan 27, 2019 3:40 pm

It is not chrome updater that you use, it is the config_backup tool. On the menu select user agent.


distrip
Posts: 4
Joined: Thu Dec 20, 2018 1:26 pm

Re: v70.0.3650.1 - Whatsapp Web Wrong version identified

Postby distrip » Mon Jan 28, 2019 2:52 pm

Well, "Iron Config & Backup Tool" has a tab UserAgent. I took the UserAgent string from Opera, where WhatsApp works. And confirmed that the Iron launched via that tool is seen as Opera (same string as entered). But, WhatsApp does not work in Iron after that.


dph3057
Posts: 19
Joined: Mon Dec 10, 2018 12:00 pm

Re: v70.0.3650.1 - Whatsapp Web Wrong version identified

Postby dph3057 » Thu Jan 31, 2019 4:22 am

You need to create a shortcut to launch iron with that user agent string each time you wish to use whatsapp web. The tool does not change the user agent string permanently.


distrip
Posts: 4
Joined: Thu Dec 20, 2018 1:26 pm

Re: v70.0.3650.1 - Whatsapp Web Wrong version identified

Postby distrip » Thu Jan 31, 2019 12:23 pm

dph3057: yes but the problem is that shortcut doesn't solve the problem. Yes, the UserAgent is changed, but WhatsApp evidently doesn't do the check based on UserAgent, it checks something else. Or do you mean that you use the shortcut and then WhatsApp works in Iron for you?


dph3057
Posts: 19
Joined: Mon Dec 10, 2018 12:00 pm

Re: v70.0.3650.1 - Whatsapp Web Wrong version identified

Postby dph3057 » Thu Feb 07, 2019 1:26 am

distrip wrote:...Or do you mean that you use the shortcut and then WhatsApp works in Iron for you?


That. Launch iron using the shortcut created by the config & backup tool and then whatsapp web should work. Solved my issue.



Return to “SRWare Iron Support (English)”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 11 guests