Page 1 of 1

No Internet Access After Upgrade

Posted: Fri Nov 17, 2017 8:03 pm
by Onyx50
Hello Forum! :)
Finally got time to update Iron (from 44.x installed version) but updated browser won't\can't access Internet.

Upgraded first to 58.x, then to 59.x and finally to 61.x (installed versions).
In every case after the upgrade, there is no internet access from the upgraded browser.
I'm Imaging & restoring partitions before & after each upgrade so no leftovers and always clean install.
System rock solid and clean Intel i7 w/ 8GB RAM. Win7 Pro 32bit.

I even tried using the portable versions of the above, but none of them will access the Internet. :?:
Very bizarre - I never came across this specific problem in 4 decades of IT work.
Disabled firewall, and no anti-virus\anti-malware to speak of. Am I missing something in the settings?
I've checked settings but was unable to find what it could be.

Tested a portable version of Epic 6x.x with no problems at all.
Pale Moon upgrade works without any problems.

Any ideas? Thanks in advance for any help

Re: No Internet Access After Upgrade

Posted: Fri Nov 17, 2017 8:43 pm
by SRWare
Can you please check in "Internet Settings "( can be opened via IE or control panel) if there is anything entered as Proxy or if there are Proxy-Settings (like "Search automatic...") active? Please turn them off.

Please also check if you can make a connection via IE.

Re: No Internet Access After Upgrade - No Proxy

Posted: Sat Nov 18, 2017 2:29 am
by Onyx50
I thank you very much for the response!

No proxy enabled - Also No IE. We don't do 'IE' here. ;)
I have 'Turned Off'' IE via 'Turn Windows features on or off' in Control Panel.

I have other browsers alongside of it accessing internet while this one won't (Pale Moon, Older Opera 9.64 etc.).

Are these newer versions of Chromium (SRW Iron) somehow dependent upon IE ?
I actually thought of that first. Not sure why I thought of it.. maybe something I read somewhere.

I'm going to attempt this upgrade on another system to see what I can find out.

ANOTHER MAJOR RELATED QUESTION (Reason for the upgrade):
Should we not be able to view twitter & Vimeo videos in the older version of Iron (44.x)? Again, this is Win 7 Pro 32bit.
I am unable to view videos in a lot of sites like that. Youtube is fine (even tho they killed flash).
Usually it does nothing (black screen or showing play arrow but no video) or errors with something like:
'Media cannot be played' or 'Media not supported on this browser'.

I have not 'Turned Off' Win Media Player, but did 'Turn Off' the Media Center. How would that be an issue with these videos?

Thank you very much for any help in this upgrade and\or info on how to view above mentioned vids in older version of Iron.

Re: No Internet Access After Upgrade - No Proxy

Posted: Sat Nov 18, 2017 1:23 pm
by SRWare
Onyx50 wrote:Are these newer versions of Chromium (SRW Iron) somehow dependent upon IE ?


No, just uses the proxy settings from there. Are you able to access files in the local network?

Btw...some poeple on the internet write:
"I got a malware virus. "Antimalwaredoctor" it stopped Google chrome connecting while other browsers were working."

Re: No Internet Access After Upgrade - No Proxy

Posted: Mon Nov 20, 2017 12:10 am
by Onyx50
SRWare wrote: Are you able to access files in the local network?
Yes. And as mentioned above, I'm accessing Internet with other browsers.
SRWare wrote: Btw...some poeple on the internet write:
"I got a malware virus. "Antimalwaredoctor" it stopped Google chrome connecting while other browsers were working."
System is new install and clean. Since I'm able to use 44.x version of Iron I don't think that's it.

This is the first time I've upgraded or installed a browser that didn't connect to the Internet. Very strange.
I'll try to duplicate this problem on another similar system to see what gives.

Re: No Internet Access After Upgrade

Posted: Mon Nov 20, 2017 3:43 am
by SRWare
Could you try the following:

Open a cmd admin panel

Execute:
netsh winsock reset catalog
netsh int ipv4 reset reset.log
Reboot

Re: No Internet Access After Upgrade - SOLVED

Posted: Tue Nov 21, 2017 2:21 pm
by Onyx50
SRWare wrote:Could you try the following:

Open a cmd admin panel
No need to reset tcp... I was able to get it working.
Love it when I can fix things... but hate it when I don't know why this happened.
My only idea is the crazy firewall installed. Even when completely disabled it appears it wasn't. :shock:
Other than that, I haven't a clue why I had to visit this particular computer-based Twilight Zone.

Wondering why flash wasn't detected in spite of it being installed long ago.
Had to uninstall older one and install newer for it to detect flash. No problem.

Thanks for the responses! :)