New Iron-Version: 5.0.381 Stable for Linux

Iron Forum for english speaking people

User avatar
SRWare
Site Admin
Posts: 2835
Joined: Sat Jan 19, 2008 4:16 am

New Iron-Version: 5.0.381 Stable for Linux

Post by SRWare »

Iron 5.0.381 for Linux is ready for download!.You can usw now all the new features of the 5.0-Line in a stable release.

Further we added the new adblocker to this linux version. You have to put the adblock.ini into the /opt/ directory.
The UA.ini for the UA-Switcher has to be also in /opt/ (pay attention to the line-breaks: http://www.srware.net/forum/viewtopic.p ... 1638#p5165).


Downloads:
http://www.srware.net/downloads/iron-linux.tar.gz (32-Bit)
http://www.srware.net/downloads/iron-linux-64.tar.gz (64-Bit)

(iron-linux-p2.tar.gz is no longer needed because the 32bit-version runs on PIII now).
Iron-Updates via Twitter: http://twitter.com/srware

Donations via Paypal and Bitcoin:
http://iron-start.com/spenden.php
Zeraxeal
Posts: 1
Joined: Sun Jul 18, 2010 6:17 am

Re: New Iron-Version: 5.0.381 Stable for Linux

Post by Zeraxeal »

I registered just to say how awesome this release is.

The previous version's adblocker was making pages look ugly (it replaced the ads with 404 page instead of 'blanking' it) , but it seems that it is fixed in this version.

Also, now that you specified where to put adblocker.ini, people will finally stop wondering about where to put it :)
deVars
Posts: 12
Joined: Fri Jul 02, 2010 11:33 pm

Re: New Iron-Version: 5.0.381 Stable for Linux

Post by deVars »

This is awesome! I will be testing/using this when I get to my linux box! :ironvsff
deVars
Posts: 12
Joined: Fri Jul 02, 2010 11:33 pm

Re: New Iron-Version: 5.0.381 Stable for Linux

Post by deVars »

Alright, I'm running it now. I got the UA switcher to work by putting UA.ini (with proper caps) to /opt but when I add adblock.ini to my /opt directory, Iron doesn't see it.

Anybody else have this same problem?
User avatar
SRWare
Site Admin
Posts: 2835
Joined: Sat Jan 19, 2008 4:16 am

Re: New Iron-Version: 5.0.381 Stable for Linux

Post by SRWare »

deVars wrote:Alright, I'm running it now. I got the UA switcher to work by putting UA.ini (with proper caps) to /opt but when I add adblock.ini to my /opt directory, Iron doesn't see it.

Anybody else have this same problem?
Try this:
open an empty adblock.ini with nano
open http://www.srware.net/downloads/adblock.ini in your browser
copy everything
paste it into nano
save

this could be needed because the adblock.ini is formated with windows line-breaks
Iron-Updates via Twitter: http://twitter.com/srware

Donations via Paypal and Bitcoin:
http://iron-start.com/spenden.php
yo2boy
Posts: 3
Joined: Thu Jul 15, 2010 8:58 pm

Re: New Iron-Version: 5.0.381 Stable for Linux

Post by yo2boy »

Thank you very much! And, can you please update http://www.srware.net/en/software_srwar ... wnload.php
so it includes the new SWare Iron browser download?
deVars
Posts: 12
Joined: Fri Jul 02, 2010 11:33 pm

Re: New Iron-Version: 5.0.381 Stable for Linux

Post by deVars »

SRWare wrote:Try this:
open an empty adblock.ini with nano
open http://www.srware.net/downloads/adblock.ini in your browser
copy everything
paste it into nano
save

this could be needed because the adblock.ini is formated with windows line-breaks
I had to redo my list in linux (it's not as big as the one provided) but it works really well! 8-)
:ironvsff
For information purposes:
I first tried doing a touch and copying my filters from the windows one but that didn't work.
Also did a tr command to replace all the CRLFs on the text with just LFs, but it still has that same problem.
ubuntu refugee
Posts: 1
Joined: Tue Jul 20, 2010 9:35 pm

Re: New Iron-Version: 5.0.381 Stable for Linux

Post by ubuntu refugee »

Sadly, it doesn't seem to work under PCLinuxOS 2010.10.
Apparently there are missing dependancies.
Oh well such is life!
User avatar
SRWare
Site Admin
Posts: 2835
Joined: Sat Jan 19, 2008 4:16 am

Re: New Iron-Version: 5.0.381 Stable for Linux

Post by SRWare »

ubuntu refugee wrote:Sadly, it doesn't seem to work under PCLinuxOS 2010.10.
Apparently there are missing dependancies.
Oh well such is life!
Found this in a forum:
"got it working by extracting some more debs into the folder.

libgcc_s.so.1
libstdc++.so.6
libstdc++.so.6.0.12"
Iron-Updates via Twitter: http://twitter.com/srware

Donations via Paypal and Bitcoin:
http://iron-start.com/spenden.php
alexan
Posts: 11
Joined: Thu Jun 17, 2010 7:11 pm

Re: New Iron-Version: 5.0.381 Stable for Linux

Post by alexan »

Since this is the stable release, why don't make a ubuntu .deb... or even a repository?




Anyway, very good job: great work guys! 8-)
Locked