Page 1 of 2

Unable to set Iron as default browser

Posted: Wed Feb 17, 2010 2:42 am
by darkdevil1
Hi,

I'm running the latest stable version of SRWare Iron, on Windows 7 Ultimate 32-bit. Iron constantly asks me whether I want to set it as default browser. I do, so I click yes, but it doesn't actually seem to apply and it asks again next time I boot Iron.

I've tried going to 'Default programs' and changing it there, but Iron is not present in the list there.

Any suggestions?

Re: Unable to set Iron as default browser

Posted: Thu Feb 18, 2010 1:55 pm
by DaveIron
I can't set Iron as default on Vista Home Premium either. I reckon it's just a bug that will eventually be fixed. I can set Safari (also WebKit based) as default, not that I want to. In fact I'm seriously thinking of uninstalling Safari as I never really use it. I can set Firefox as default but who'd want to do that? :lol: I can't use Firefox as it won't load in some pages (My Yahoo, Gmail) as there is an Ajax scripting bug, this also affects SeaMonkey. So my first choice of browser is Iron these days. It would be nice to have it as default though!

Re: Unable to set Iron as default browser

Posted: Thu Feb 18, 2010 6:23 pm
by darkdevil1
I just installed Iron on a friend's WXP SP3 PC and he also has the same problem. Aside from Iron, he's got Firefox and IE installed. Both of those can be set as default without any issues, so you're right about it being a bug probably.

Let's hope they fix it soon!

Re: Unable to set Iron as default browser

Posted: Wed Feb 24, 2010 1:45 am
by Gigith
I'm having the same problem, and I'm using Windows 7 RC.
My version of Iron is portable, though.

Re: Unable to set Iron as default browser

Posted: Thu Feb 25, 2010 10:53 am
by Pierre771
Hello

yes, that's right.

At the moment Windows doesn't recognize Iron as a browser.

If you try to define Iron as default browser, it has no effect... a part from defining IE as default browser even if it was not already !

(I have already mention it in another topic)

Re: Unable to set Iron as default browser

Posted: Thu Feb 25, 2010 11:06 am
by SRWare
Did you run it as administrator?

Re: Unable to set Iron as default browser

Posted: Thu Feb 25, 2010 7:55 pm
by Pierre771
Yes I did. I did as for other browsers I tried, and particulaly Chrome

Here is a link about it :

http://burrowowl.net/wordpress/200905/srware_iron/

I extract this sentence (at the end) :

but that’s a problem I don’t find compelling enough to use IE as my go-to browser of choice. My only real complaint is that Iron doesn’t seem to be able to actually assert itself as the default browser in Windows Vista. This can be a little annoying when following links from other programs.


I think Windows (here : Vista) should be updated in that sense (internal list of browsers). Maybe it would be necessary to ask it to them (Microsoft, I mean).

Re: Unable to set Iron as default browser

Posted: Thu Feb 25, 2010 8:42 pm
by Pierre771
Cf. this topic too

viewtopic.php?f=18&t=1259

Re: Unable to set Iron as default browser

Posted: Sun Feb 28, 2010 3:16 pm
by Pierre771
Hello

***************** SOLVED !!!! ******************

I could define Iron as default browser after reinstalling Iron executing the .exe as an administrator (Vista).

Good Sunday.

Re: Unable to set Iron as default browser

Posted: Sun Feb 28, 2010 8:22 pm
by Ryluria
Pierre771 wrote:Hello

***************** SOLVED !!!! ******************

I could define Iron as default browser after reinstalling Iron executing the .exe as an administrator (Vista).

Good Sunday.



This worked! Thank you Pierre. I didn't even need to uninstall Iron, I just installed over top of the current installation. Ran the installer as administrator and now Iron is my default browser ;)