New Iron-Version: 55.0.2900.1 Stable for Windows

Iron Forum for english speaking people
User avatar
SRWare
Site Admin
Posts: 2493
Joined: Sat Jan 19, 2008 4:16 am

Re: New Iron-Version: 55.0.2900.1 Stable for Windows

Postby SRWare » Wed Dec 14, 2016 8:32 pm

@Felindril

There is nothing bad. False positive.
Iron-Updates via Twitter: http://twitter.com/srware

Donations via Paypal and Bitcoin:
http://iron-start.com/spenden.php


yetubokahu
Posts: 17
Joined: Thu Nov 24, 2016 7:25 pm

Re: New Iron-Version: 55.0.2900.1 Stable for Windows

Postby yetubokahu » Wed Dec 14, 2016 9:36 pm

1. Please make full-clear new tab (no history blocks)!
2. Please make history version repository of "disable the searchbox on New-Tab"
3. all brouser versions " --disable-remote-fonts" block inserted instagram fotos on external sites


Thank you!


Mannard
Posts: 15
Joined: Mon Aug 19, 2013 2:04 pm

Re: New Iron-Version: 55.0.2900.1 Stable for Windows

Postby Mannard » Sat Dec 17, 2016 3:44 pm

Iron 55.0.2900.1 works great with my config..

Windows 7 64 ultimate
- upgraded from Iron 54 -> 55 using the regular (non-portable) version
- using 3 extensions.. (Ublock origin, Iron updater, Scriptsafe

It's worked great on all 3 machines I've installed it on so far.. (Some portable, some not)
:ironvsff


Alan_SP
Posts: 11
Joined: Mon Dec 19, 2016 8:05 pm

Re: New Iron-Version: 55.0.2900.1 Stable for Windows

Postby Alan_SP » Mon Dec 19, 2016 8:16 pm

Serious problems with v55.0.2900.1 when using multiple tabs. Tried to open 20+ (yes, I really like to work this way) tabs, at first it worked, until some "limit" reached and then everything went south.

I read you had some memory issues, this could be related. Anyway, processor went in high speed (fan started spinning like crazy), after waiting for some time I received info that tabs are unresponsive and if I want to kill them or wait. First I waited, didn't helped, then I killed them and opened them one by one (when you go to each tab you have reload button).

I reverted to last version I used before (50.0.2650.0), it is a bit old, but it works without this problem.

I'd like to use newer version, but I really need to open a lot of tabs and work with them without problems. Like v50.0.2650.0 does (and other browsers, of course). I hope this will be soon rectified.

On very small number of tabs, v55.0.2900.1 works fine as far as I can tell. So, please test it with numerous tabs.


User avatar
SRWare
Site Admin
Posts: 2493
Joined: Sat Jan 19, 2008 4:16 am

Re: New Iron-Version: 55.0.2900.1 Stable for Windows

Postby SRWare » Mon Dec 19, 2016 8:23 pm

Alan_SP wrote:Serious problems with v55.0.2900.1 when using multiple tabs. Tried to open 20+ (yes, I really like to work this way) tabs, at first it worked, until some "limit" reached and then everything went south.


could you try going to chrome://flags/ and set "Automatic tab discarding" to disbaled?
Iron-Updates via Twitter: http://twitter.com/srware

Donations via Paypal and Bitcoin:
http://iron-start.com/spenden.php


Alan_SP
Posts: 11
Joined: Mon Dec 19, 2016 8:05 pm

Re: New Iron-Version: 55.0.2900.1 Stable for Windows

Postby Alan_SP » Mon Dec 19, 2016 8:43 pm

SRWare wrote:could you try going to chrome://flags/ and set "Automatic tab discarding" to disbaled?


OK, I reinstalled latest version, tried first without changing anything. After about 11-12 tabs problem started. So you can easily try test in your system, it isn't that many tabs.

I then changed setting as per your advice, it didn't helped.

I noticed more symptoms (they were also present before, but I didn't reported them). First, everything slows down, mouse becomes unresponsive, when you click on new link, link doesn't change (hover effect doesn't happen for some time, like processor is too busy), when you try to see opened tab you meet blank screen for some time, like Iron needs some time to recreate it.

All in all, the more tabs, the problems are more pronounced.

It is something easily to reproduce, please try it yourself. I'm going back to older version. Hopefully you'll solve this really soon.


User avatar
SRWare
Site Admin
Posts: 2493
Joined: Sat Jan 19, 2008 4:16 am

Re: New Iron-Version: 55.0.2900.1 Stable for Windows

Postby SRWare » Mon Dec 19, 2016 8:45 pm

Alan_SP wrote:
It is something easily to reproduce, please try it yourself. I'm going back to older version. Hopefully you'll solve this really soon.


I have here 40 tabs open and no problem. What are your system specs?
Iron-Updates via Twitter: http://twitter.com/srware

Donations via Paypal and Bitcoin:
http://iron-start.com/spenden.php


Alan_SP
Posts: 11
Joined: Mon Dec 19, 2016 8:05 pm

Re: New Iron-Version: 55.0.2900.1 Stable for Windows

Postby Alan_SP » Mon Dec 19, 2016 8:53 pm

Well, really strange.

I'm back with old version (50.0.2650.0), just tried, it works fine, as I remember it does.

My system is win10 Pro 64bit, 8GB RAM, 240GB SSD for system, i7-4720HQ CPU. It is a notebook, but it should be able to run multiple tabs. Older version works without problems. I just noticed slight blank screen for a tenth of a second or less, barely noticeable, when switching tabs. With newer version Iron breaks. Other tasks work fine.

If you have 40 tabs open, this is strange. After 11 or 12 I start to have problems. The more I open, the worse situation gets. :(


User avatar
SRWare
Site Admin
Posts: 2493
Joined: Sat Jan 19, 2008 4:16 am

Re: New Iron-Version: 55.0.2900.1 Stable for Windows

Postby SRWare » Mon Dec 19, 2016 8:55 pm

Alan_SP wrote:Well, really strange.

I'm back with old version (50.0.2650.0), just tried, it works fine, as I remember it does.

My system is win10 Pro 64bit, 8GB RAM, 240GB SSD for system, i7-4720HQ CPU. It is a notebook, but it should be able to run multiple tabs. Older version works without problems. I just noticed slight blank screen for a tenth of a second or less, barely noticeable, when switching tabs. With newer version Iron breaks. Other tasks work fine.

If you have 40 tabs open, this is strange. After 11 or 12 I start to have problems. The more I open, the worse situation gets. :(


Could you please start the Iron Task-Manager with Shift+Esc and watch which process/plugin/tab etc. may consume much CPU or RAM when opening more tabs?
Iron-Updates via Twitter: http://twitter.com/srware

Donations via Paypal and Bitcoin:
http://iron-start.com/spenden.php


Alan_SP
Posts: 11
Joined: Mon Dec 19, 2016 8:05 pm

Re: New Iron-Version: 55.0.2900.1 Stable for Windows

Postby Alan_SP » Mon Dec 19, 2016 9:15 pm

First tab is showed as main problem, ram went to about 1GB, processor about 16%.

This is one screenshot how it looked like:

Image

After some time things get sorted, but I didn't opened as much tabs as I do sometimes.

EDIT:
Maybe this is just problem with this webpage I use: http://slobodni.net/forum.php

Try there to open tabs and see what's going on. I use this web page with older version without problems.

EDIT2:

Just tested, on different site I can open more tabs without problems, but with this one site there are problems. Strange thing is, it works fine with old version.
Last edited by Alan_SP on Mon Dec 19, 2016 9:24 pm, edited 1 time in total.



Return to “SRWare Iron Support (English)”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 11 guests