Cannot browse on one Chromebook (HP) but no problems on another (Lenovo)

Iron Forum for english speaking people

Post Reply
Bofroz
Posts: 4
Joined: Mon Apr 19, 2021 9:51 pm

Cannot browse on one Chromebook (HP) but no problems on another (Lenovo)

Post by Bofroz »

Hello,

I use SRWare Iron on Android (Google Pixel 4a), ChromeOS (Lenovo Duet) and macOS.

I recently purchased a Hewlett Packard x360 (Intel i3 processor) Chromebook.

SRWare Iron executes without issue however, I am unable to browse any web sites and there is no error message displayed.

Do you have any suggestions on how to resolve this problem?

Thank you.
User avatar
SRWare
Site Admin
Posts: 2911
Joined: Sat Jan 19, 2008 4:16 am

Re: Cannot browse on one Chromebook (HP) but no problems on another (Lenovo)

Post by SRWare »

Bofroz wrote: Mon Apr 19, 2021 9:58 pm
I recently purchased a Hewlett Packard x360 (Intel i3 processor) Chromebook.
You run ChromeOS on it?
Iron-Updates via Twitter: http://twitter.com/srware

Donations via Paypal and Bitcoin:
http://iron-start.com/spenden.php
Bofroz
Posts: 4
Joined: Mon Apr 19, 2021 9:51 pm

Re: Cannot browse on one Chromebook (HP) but no problems on another (Lenovo)

Post by Bofroz »

Yes,

I run ChromeOS on both a Lenovo Duet (MediaTek processor) on which SRWare Iron works with no issues.

https://www.lenovo.com/us/en/laptops/le ... ZICZCTCT1X

And the HP 14c (Intel Core i3 processor) where SRWare Iron executes with no error but I am unable to browse any web sites.

https://www8.hp.com/us/en/laptops/produ ... s/34370440

Both Chromebooks are running the latest ChromeOS release

Thank you.
Bofroz
Posts: 4
Joined: Mon Apr 19, 2021 9:51 pm

Re: Cannot browse on one Chromebook (HP) but no problems on another (Lenovo)

Post by Bofroz »

I cleared caches and data, restarted the device and reinstalled Iron.

Most of the time when I enter a URL and press enter, nothing happens... pages does not load and there is no error message. The same is true when I try an incognito window.

Sometimes I will get the "Can't open this page" error message.

Iron works very well on another Chromebook, Google Pixel 4a phone and multiple Mac systems (hope an M1 Apple silicon version is in the works too!).
User avatar
SRWare
Site Admin
Posts: 2911
Joined: Sat Jan 19, 2008 4:16 am

Re: Cannot browse on one Chromebook (HP) but no problems on another (Lenovo)

Post by SRWare »

Sorry, really no idea what could be the issue as i have no ChromeOS device here.
Iron-Updates via Twitter: http://twitter.com/srware

Donations via Paypal and Bitcoin:
http://iron-start.com/spenden.php
Bofroz
Posts: 4
Joined: Mon Apr 19, 2021 9:51 pm

Re: Cannot browse on one Chromebook (HP) but no problems on another (Lenovo)

Post by Bofroz »

I noticed there was a new version of Iron on the Google Play store today.

Tried updating and still wasn't able to browse. Same was true after uninstall/reinstall of the app.

I then uninstalled Iron, rebooted and reinstalled and now it works on my HP x360 (Intel i3) Chromebook.

Thank you for all that you do across so many platforms to provide us with a browser alternative.

Cheers!
Post Reply