How to change User-Agent via UA.ini

Iron Forum for english speaking people

How to change User-Agent via UA.ini

Postby gdv » Mon Sep 21, 2009 9:30 pm

The Chrome vs Iron webpage states that "The User-Agent in Iron can be flexible and permanently changed by UA.ini," but I have been unable to locate a UA.ini file or any information about how to do this. Can anyone tell me how, or point me in the right direction?

Thanks! :)
gdv
 
Posts: 5
Joined: Tue Jan 20, 2009 12:07 am


Re: How to change User-Agent via UA.ini

Postby SRWare » Tue Sep 22, 2009 10:11 am

Just create a file called UA.ini via texteditor in the Iron-Directory and put in your favorite Userstring.
Iron-Updates via Twitter: http://twitter.com/srware
User avatar
SRWare
Site Admin
 
Posts: 1672
Joined: Sat Jan 19, 2008 4:16 am


Re: How to change User-Agent via UA.ini

Postby gdv » Tue Sep 22, 2009 11:56 pm

SRWare wrote:Just create a file called UA.ini via texteditor in the Iron-Directory and put in your favorite Userstring.
OK, thanks!

But just to be clear, do you mean the following User Settings folder?:
    C:\Documents and Settings\username\Local Settings\Application Data\Chromium\User Data
If not, would you please specify exactly which folder?

BTW, is this info documented anywhere?

Thanks! :)
gdv
 
Posts: 5
Joined: Tue Jan 20, 2009 12:07 am


Re: How to change User-Agent via UA.ini

Postby SRWare » Wed Sep 23, 2009 9:41 am

gdv wrote:
SRWare wrote:Just create a file called UA.ini via texteditor in the Iron-Directory and put in your favorite Userstring.
OK, thanks!

But just to be clear, do you mean the following User Settings folder?:
    C:\Documents and Settings\username\Local Settings\Application Data\Chromium\User Data
If not, would you please specify exactly which folder?

BTW, is this info documented anywhere?

Thanks! :)


No,
use C:\Program Files\SRWare Iron
Iron-Updates via Twitter: http://twitter.com/srware
User avatar
SRWare
Site Admin
 
Posts: 1672
Joined: Sat Jan 19, 2008 4:16 am


Re: How to change User-Agent via UA.ini

Postby gdv » Wed Sep 23, 2009 9:57 am

SRWare wrote:No,
use C:\Program Files\SRWare Iron

Thanks! ;)

Again, BTW, is this info documented anywhere? :?:
gdv
 
Posts: 5
Joined: Tue Jan 20, 2009 12:07 am


Re: How to change User-Agent via UA.ini

Postby SRWare » Wed Sep 23, 2009 9:55 pm

gdv wrote:
SRWare wrote:No,
use C:\Program Files\SRWare Iron

Thanks! ;)

Again, BTW, is this info documented anywhere? :?:


will come soon
Iron-Updates via Twitter: http://twitter.com/srware
User avatar
SRWare
Site Admin
 
Posts: 1672
Joined: Sat Jan 19, 2008 4:16 am


Re: How to change User-Agent via UA.ini

Postby gdv » Wed Sep 23, 2009 10:01 pm

SRWare wrote:
gdv wrote:Again, BTW, is this info documented anywhere? :?:

will come soon
OK, thanks! :)
gdv
 
Posts: 5
Joined: Tue Jan 20, 2009 12:07 am


+1

Postby oingo » Sat Sep 26, 2009 3:03 am

SRWare wrote:Just create a file called UA.ini


awesome
iron is the best chromium
oingo
 
Posts: 4
Joined: Sat Sep 26, 2009 2:53 am


Re: How to change User-Agent via UA.ini

Postby Ruhe » Tue Apr 05, 2011 3:52 pm

gdv wrote:Again, BTW, is this info documented anywhere? :?:

Where is the info documented in the meantime?
Ruhe
 
Posts: 4
Joined: Tue Apr 05, 2011 2:34 pm
Location: Germany


Re: How to change User-Agent via UA.ini

Postby ironuser » Wed Apr 06, 2011 12:17 am

Just like the adblock.ini file, any UA.ini file you create will be overwritten the next time you update(or down date for that matter).
So, KEEP a good COPY it somewhere so that you can replace it without having to start over again.
Here again, maybe the developers will soon realize it 'needs' to be in the Profile(s)!
ironuser
 
Posts: 386
Joined: Mon Feb 01, 2010 12:29 am


Next

Return to SRWare Iron Support (English)

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: Bing [Bot], Google Feedfetcher and 18 guests