Iron as DefaultBrowser - Tool

Iron Forum for english speaking people

Re: Iron as DefaultBrowser - Tool

Postby JoeSchmoe » Sat Aug 10, 2013 7:26 pm

Works on Windows 7 x64.
Just right-click Iron icon, click open File Location and once there, copy DefaultBrowser.exe and in my case it had to overwrite the old one.

Right-click on the new "DefaultBrowser.exe", run as Administrator, and all good. Thanks a lot! :ironvsff :ironvsopera :ironvssafari :ironvschrome :ironvsie
JoeSchmoe
 
Posts: 1
Joined: Sat Aug 10, 2013 7:19 pm


Re: Iron as DefaultBrowser - Tool

Postby RWM » Thu Sep 19, 2013 3:17 am

I have read all the available entries in this blog and I have found no way of making SRWARE IRON my default browser. New machine running native Windows 8, previous machine wasn't a problem as Windows 8 adopted the defaults from Windows 7. Please help me assign Internet Explorer to the dung heap.
RWM
 
Posts: 1
Joined: Thu Sep 19, 2013 2:48 am


Re: Iron as DefaultBrowser - Tool

Postby justclimb » Thu Oct 10, 2013 8:22 pm

Since 2012 and still isn´t integrated on current versions...

Another reason I unstalled it, as links always opened in Explorer... while I sttled Iron as default.

JUST MAKE IT THE BEST MEN!
justclimb
 
Posts: 2
Joined: Thu Oct 10, 2013 7:53 pm


Re: Iron as DefaultBrowser - Tool

Postby zaivala » Fri Oct 25, 2013 2:20 am

I still have this problem (Win 8 64 bit). Hope it fixed soon. I have run Sleipnir, which uses the same basic code, and did not have the problem -- however, Iron works much better than Sleipnir in general, so I'm just ignoring the Set Browser request for now. (When I try to set the browser, Win8 wants me to open Infernal Exploder to process the HTML command)
zaivala
 
Posts: 5
Joined: Wed Jan 18, 2012 4:28 am


Re: Iron as DefaultBrowser - Tool

Postby logos88 » Fri Nov 01, 2013 1:25 pm

How can I make this work in Archlinux?
logos88
 
Posts: 4
Joined: Fri Nov 01, 2013 1:09 pm


Re: Iron as DefaultBrowser - Tool

Postby saunatonttu » Thu Nov 07, 2013 4:22 pm

In Linux - you should worry about your default browser, as well as you shoud worry about your favorite action movie. You cannot change either of them, but why the heck... Rambo is cool. :D

Since you know it isn't gonna change - unless you exciplitly tell it to do - the best thing to do is to create a /bin folder in your home directory. Then - since it will most definitely not work - the next thing is to replace the /usr/bin/firefox links, and redirect it to /usr/share/iron/iron

Although, since we're talking about Linux, this will not be working either. So in order to define your preferred browser, you'll have to move "/usr/bin/firefox" into another location, and replace it with a link to your preferred browser. In this case /usr/share/iron/iron.
saunatonttu
 
Posts: 2
Joined: Sun Mar 31, 2013 2:39 am


Re: Iron as DefaultBrowser - Tool

Postby KuroTenshi » Fri Nov 15, 2013 8:32 pm

Works perfectly with Windows 7 x64 !!! Thank you. Strange I had to use such a third party tool to make my iron the default browser.

But doesn't work yet with Windows 8 (8.1 in my case). Hope it'll be soon solved ! It's annoying when clicking on a hyperlink in a software does nothing.
KuroTenshi
 
Posts: 3
Joined: Sat Nov 09, 2013 7:23 pm


Re: Iron as DefaultBrowser - Tool

Postby mondo-seta » Wed Dec 18, 2013 8:39 am

Greetings. A humble request. Can you make DefaultBrowser.exe to have silent mode /s. Thanks, it would be great.

Otherwise this works perfectly in W764.
mondo-seta
 
Posts: 1
Joined: Wed Dec 18, 2013 8:23 am


Re: Iron as DefaultBrowser - Tool

Postby gordon451 » Fri Dec 20, 2013 3:27 pm

G'day SRWare - you're a bloody genius!!! :D

You've solved how to get apps into {Control Panel\All Control Panel Items\Default Programs\Set Default Programs} 8-) :ugeek:

Now, all we need is some way for users to insert their fave apps (the ones that W7 refuses to see!) into the UI before clicking "GO!"

Keep it up cob, yer blood's worth bottling!

Gordon.
____________________
Gigabyte H61M-USB3-B3 r2.0, I5-2400 3.10GHz, 4GB RAM; W7HPx64 SP1, Lotus SmartSuite 9.8, Iron 27.0.1500, Opera 12.01, IE9, Eudora 6.2, Foxit Reader 6.1.1.1031, PaintShop Pro 6.02, Avast! 7.0.1466
gordon451
 
Posts: 4
Joined: Sun Dec 01, 2013 12:00 pm
Location: Western Australia


Re: Iron as DefaultBrowser - Tool

Postby sonsonalex » Thu Dec 26, 2013 11:16 pm

doesn't work on windows 8.1
any fix ?
sonsonalex
 
Posts: 1
Joined: Thu Dec 26, 2013 11:13 pm


PreviousNext

Return to SRWare Iron Support (English)

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: Yahoo [Bot] and 15 guests