Make as Default Browser

Iron Forum for english speaking people
gnaske
Posts: 12
Joined: Sat Sep 29, 2012 10:28 am

Make as Default Browser

Postby gnaske » Sat Sep 29, 2012 10:40 am

To make Iron as the Default Browser doesnt work :shock:
Niether in the settings or at the warning link, when the browser open :o


irishterrier
Posts: 1
Joined: Sat Sep 29, 2012 8:28 am

Re: Make as Default Browser

Postby irishterrier » Sun Sep 30, 2012 1:14 pm

The same happens to me.
I installed 'Iron' once, deleted it and reinstalled.
You probably cannot set the default browser after such an action.
Recommendation: Backup your saved URLs, and saved passwords.
Delete Iron and the Google webbrowser, then install 'Iron' again.
I assume that your problem has been resolved.
Good luck !

Irish terrier.


gnaske
Posts: 12
Joined: Sat Sep 29, 2012 10:28 am

Re: Make as Default Browser

Postby gnaske » Sun Sep 30, 2012 2:36 pm

I have a Google Gmail account and synchronize my Bookmarks with that account, which mean, everywhere I open Google Chrome and log into my account, I will receive all my Bookmarks.
I just need to go into the Google Chrome settings before leaving the computer and log off my account again - Otherwise other will have all my Bookmarks too.

When I installed Iron, I imported the Bookmarks from my installed Google Chrome.
Something strange happen - It destroyed some of my Bookmarks and it was synchronized too, which mean the Bookmarks also was destroyed in my account. Hmmmmm !!

I know I can export my Bookmarks to my HD as HTML, but didn't think it was necessary, because I had all the bookmarks online in my Gmail account.

I want to try Iron, because my Google Chrome crash all the time, telling "Flash Player stopped working".
I had tried to uninstall everything and install Iron with same result, but I still had the stupid IE9, which follew Win7.

Okay - Thank you - I'll try one more time.
- Uninstall everything - Except EI9, which I can't.
- Install Iron and make it as Default Browser.
- And then try to install Chrome too ;)

Gnaske.


Fenway
Posts: 4
Joined: Sun Jul 29, 2012 7:08 pm

Re: Make as Default Browser

Postby Fenway » Sun Sep 30, 2012 10:08 pm

I am no tech but Windows 7 does not recognize SWIron as a program you can make default.

Please address this in next version?


Image


gnaske
Posts: 12
Joined: Sat Sep 29, 2012 10:28 am

Re: Make as Default Browser

Postby gnaske » Mon Oct 01, 2012 12:45 am

I just tried to uninstall everything and installed Iron again, with the same result.
It's not possible to make it as "Default Browser" :roll:

Gnaske


gnaske
Posts: 12
Joined: Sat Sep 29, 2012 10:28 am

Re: Make as Default Browser

Postby gnaske » Mon Oct 01, 2012 11:26 pm

I had actually just found out Iron can be the Default Browser.

I used Chrome and had some short-cut to home site's at the desktop.
They all showed the Chrome Icon.

Then I uninstalled the Chrome Browser and installed the Iron.
When starting Iron, it asked "Make as Default Browser" and I clicked "Yes" and then all the short-cut's at my desktop changed to Iron Icon's.

The next time I started Iron, it asked again and then I just click "Don't ask again".
Now is Iron the Default Browser.

The click button "Make as Default Browser" in the Iron settings is inactive.

What will happen if I install Chrome again, I don't know.
Maybe it will take over again, but I don't want to try right now.

Gnaske


mapx
Posts: 636
Joined: Fri Jul 30, 2010 2:02 pm

Re: Make as Default Browser

Postby mapx » Tue Oct 02, 2012 7:42 am

did you try running iron with admin rights ? (right click iron and choose admin run)


mapx
Posts: 636
Joined: Fri Jul 30, 2010 2:02 pm

Re: Make as Default Browser

Postby mapx » Tue Oct 02, 2012 7:43 am

you can also try this program
http://www.pc-tools.net/win32/setbrowser/


gnaske
Posts: 12
Joined: Sat Sep 29, 2012 10:28 am

Re: Make as Default Browser

Postby gnaske » Tue Oct 02, 2012 9:38 am

There is a delay in the answers, because the Admin need to approve them, before they are released to the forum.

After installing the Iron I was thinking about I should install with Admin Right's, but didn't do it.

Thank you for the little useful program to Set a Browser as Default.
Later, when I got the time, I'll try to install Chrome too, to see what happen and if Chrome overtake, I'll use the program to make Iron as Deafult ;)

Gnaske


mapx
Posts: 636
Joined: Fri Jul 30, 2010 2:02 pm

Re: Make as Default Browser

Postby mapx » Tue Oct 02, 2012 2:04 pm

not only to install iron, but to EXECUTE like admin and then force it like your default browser



Return to “SRWare Iron Support (English)”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 9 guests