Open New Tab question

Iron Forum for english speaking people
Ogre
Posts: 2
Joined: Sun Aug 30, 2009 12:52 am

Open New Tab question

Postby Ogre » Sun Aug 30, 2009 12:57 am

Is it possible to right click a link and select the "Open New Tab" option but have the browser keep the page I am currently viewing up? I often scroll through forums and open multiple tabs to threads prior to reading each one and I prefer to keep my current page in focus as opposed to viewing the new tab as it appears.


InsTeR
Posts: 4
Joined: Mon Aug 31, 2009 1:15 am
Location: South France

Re: Open New Tab question

Postby InsTeR » Mon Aug 31, 2009 1:18 am

yes +1 because when you want open 2-5 links you must switch again :s
and sorry for my bad english xD


soluphobe
Posts: 3
Joined: Sat Aug 22, 2009 3:28 pm

Re: Open New Tab question

Postby soluphobe » Fri Sep 04, 2009 2:07 am

I'm using 3.0.197.0 on Linux, and when I do 'right-click->Open in new tab' it opens in foreground for me. When I use 'Ctrl-click' on the other hand, the tab opens in the background. As to opening 2-5 links, I find that Rightclick, move, click, move, right-click, move, click... is more time consuming than move, ctrl-click, move, crtl-click, move, ctrl-click...


Ogre
Posts: 2
Joined: Sun Aug 30, 2009 12:52 am

Re: Open New Tab question

Postby Ogre » Tue Sep 08, 2009 9:16 pm

Thanks for the information. Ctrl Click does indeed open the tabs as a background and I agree that it's much easier.


DHotdog85
Posts: 1
Joined: Sat Oct 17, 2009 11:42 am

Re: Open New Tab question

Postby DHotdog85 » Sat Oct 17, 2009 11:52 am

I just recently downloaded Iron, and the new-tab [opening in the foreground instead of the background] issue was immediately my first gripe. I do like the program otherwise. The ctrl-click option is useful if you're clicking directly on a link. But, it doesn't work when I use right click to open a new tab (there's a multitude of instances where I find right-click very useful). Maybe I'm just asking too much. But, after getting used to Firefox and [dare I say] Chrome, it's a little frustrating to have to take the time to work around a new program's stubbornness. Any ideas?


dogstar
Posts: 4
Joined: Tue Nov 24, 2009 1:48 am

Re: Open New Tab question

Postby dogstar » Sun Dec 06, 2009 12:20 pm

The older version of Iron I had been running previously (No, unfortunately I don't recall which version) would open tabs in the background when right clicking, this foreground opening on right click is a new "feature" and something I wish was selectable... it tends to be quite obnoxious when in the middle of scrolling through a page as I always forget to Ctrl-click as I've not trained myself to do it yet and it seems quite un-intuitive, but maybe that's just me as I'm quite mouse dominant when navigating a web page. I guess it comes from all the first person shooters... if you aren't using your mouse and are pressing keys while someone is shooting at you, you'll soon be dead :)


controlfreak
Posts: 20
Joined: Thu Aug 06, 2009 1:16 am

Re: Open New Tab question

Postby controlfreak » Tue Dec 08, 2009 2:01 am

I know the OP is asking specifically about using the right-click function to open a link in a background tab, but -- for those who have a middle mouse button or scroll wheel, as most do, I imagine -- why not just use that scroll wheel (middle-cllick) function ? That's what I do to open about 8-10 tabs all in the background. :) I'm assuming that it's more the result that one is after (opening links in the background), than the specific method (right-clicking).


movrshakr
Posts: 7
Joined: Sat Dec 26, 2009 4:43 pm

Re: Open New Tab question

Postby movrshakr » Sat Dec 26, 2009 5:22 pm

Very interesting posts.

It is clear that many prefer "Open link in new tab" to open it as a background tab--focus remaining on the original tab.

Yet, there are many (ME! too) who much prefer the other way, for focus to switch to the tab of link you clicked--to open as the foreground tab.

So the solution is to implement a selection for the user to set which way it is to work. Problem solved.

Aside, the control-click could then do the opposite of whichever way Iron was currently set to open tabs.

Please, please, please do this to satisfy everybody.



Return to “SRWare Iron Support (English)”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 13 guests