[Win/2.0.178.0] Disable spell check?

Iron Forum for english speaking people

[Win/2.0.178.0] Disable spell check?

Postby littlebigman » Thu Jul 09, 2009 9:12 am

Hello

I just installed SRWare Iron yesterday and like it very much.

Just one thing: I didn't find how to disable the spell check feature when composing e-mails.

Thank you.
littlebigman
 
Posts: 22
Joined: Thu Jul 09, 2009 8:54 am


Re: [Win/2.0.178.0] Disable spell check?

Postby sanhaji » Thu Jul 09, 2009 12:26 pm

Hi littlebigman!
The option to turn that off is hard to find.

Click on the wrench, and choose Options.
Switch to the tab "Under the Hood".
Click on "Change Font and language settings" and switch to the tab "Languages".

There you can turn off the "Check spelling" option.

I hope this could help you.
sanhaji
 
Posts: 6
Joined: Thu Jul 09, 2009 12:19 pm


Re: [Win/2.0.178.0] Disable spell check?

Postby littlebigman » Thu Jul 09, 2009 2:32 pm

For those interested, here's how to disable spellchecking

Options > Minor Tweaks > Change font and language settings > Languages : Uncheck "Check spelling"
littlebigman
 
Posts: 22
Joined: Thu Jul 09, 2009 8:54 am


Re: [Win/2.0.178.0] Disable spell check?

Postby DaveIron » Thu Jul 16, 2009 11:43 am

That's odd. I tried to change the spellchecker from US English to UK English & now the spellchecker is disabled permanently. :?
DaveIron
 
Posts: 119
Joined: Wed Jul 15, 2009 7:09 am


Re: [Win/2.0.178.0] Disable spell check?

Postby littlebigman » Thu Sep 20, 2012 4:35 pm

Hello

I'm using 21.0.1200.0, the UI has changed, and I can't get Iron to stop using spellchecking.

1. Show advanced settings...
2. Languages > Languages and spell-checker settings
3. I have English + French, but Iron insists on having at least one language having "Use this language for spell checking".

How can I tell Iron to stop using spellchecking entirely?

Thank you.
littlebigman
 
Posts: 22
Joined: Thu Jul 09, 2009 8:54 am


Re: [Win/2.0.178.0] Disable spell check?

Postby JustMe » Fri Sep 21, 2012 12:45 am

Sorry, I use Iron French version. It should be at the same place for you.

Image
JustMe
 
Posts: 46
Joined: Thu Jul 14, 2011 2:35 pm


Re: [Win/2.0.178.0] Disable spell check?

Postby littlebigman » Fri Sep 21, 2012 9:49 am

Thanks, problem solved.
littlebigman
 
Posts: 22
Joined: Thu Jul 09, 2009 8:54 am


Re: [Win/2.0.178.0] Disable spell check?

Postby JustMe » Fri Sep 21, 2012 5:10 pm

Glad ! You're welcome !
JustMe
 
Posts: 46
Joined: Thu Jul 14, 2011 2:35 pm


Re: [Win/2.0.178.0] Disable spell check?

Postby littlebigman » Tue Sep 25, 2012 10:56 am

I have a couple more questions about the Languages section:

1. After moving from Chrome to Iron, search results are almost all in English instead of being in French and localized for where I live, even when the search terms are obviously in French and localized for France: How can I configure Iron so that Google will again start by sending search data accordingly?

2. Why are the options on the right different for the different languages?
iron.languages.jpg


Thank you.
You do not have the required permissions to view the files attached to this post.
littlebigman
 
Posts: 22
Joined: Thu Jul 09, 2009 8:54 am


Re: [Win/2.0.178.0] Disable spell check?

Postby JustMe » Thu Sep 27, 2012 3:11 pm

Sorry for the delay to respond.

Looking at your screenshot, you installed the English US version of Iron (while I installed the French one) so it is normal that Iron primary language is English US for displaying and spell checking.

As for English, which seems to me to be British English, it is the same result as yours on my side. I assume that when we installed Iron we did not add British English components. I know for sure that I did not on my side.

For the French choices now. You cannot display Iron in French because you installed the English US version, but, if at the installation you also selected French as a second language you should be able to spell check in French too.

SEARCH ENGINE: Try using a France search engine.

Go here http://www.google.fr/ and do a simple search. Then go to Iron settings - Search - Manage seach engines.

Because you already did a search, the France search engine will be added in the options. Click on it to highlight it and select "Use as default"

Image

Restart Iron.

I hope this is not clear as mud...

I too have a question: If you want everything in French why do you install the English version, which is by default English US ? Why not install in French from the beginning ?
JustMe
 
Posts: 46
Joined: Thu Jul 14, 2011 2:35 pm


Next

Return to SRWare Iron Support (English)

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: Google Feedfetcher, Majestic-12 [Bot] and 11 guests