Iron Operating System and Security

Iron Forum for english speaking people

Iron Operating System and Security

Postby robb7thurston » Wed Jul 08, 2009 9:30 pm

With Google developing an operating system, which is open sourced, in conjunction with their Chrome and Linux, will
Iron also follow along with a private OS? Any ideas?
robb7thurston
 
Posts: 4
Joined: Sat Sep 27, 2008 10:43 pm


Re: Iron Operating System and Security

Postby SRWare » Wed Jul 08, 2009 11:06 pm

Maybe, let's see again when it is released.
Iron-Updates via Twitter: http://twitter.com/srware
User avatar
SRWare
Site Admin
 
Posts: 1624
Joined: Sat Jan 19, 2008 4:16 am


Iron Operating System and Security

Postby robb7thurston » Thu Jul 09, 2009 4:53 am

I sincerely encourage SR Ware Iron to investigate and try to see whether the Chrome Operating System, can be made Private! I believe that Google has a vested interest in avoiding privacy, in as much as the information gleaned from its applications recapitulates as advertising. Google, however, often has superb engineering, and is friendly to the extent one ignores it snooping. In an ideal world, the Google applications could be made private. Is this a role for SR Ware?
Just some proposals. Very kindest wishes, because I do use your Iron and deeply appreciate it.
I
robb7thurston
 
Posts: 4
Joined: Sat Sep 27, 2008 10:43 pm


Re: Iron Operating System and Security

Postby Stupidium-365 » Fri Oct 04, 2013 6:42 am

download Micro Core Linux 4.7.7, install, and do this at the prompt:
Code: Select all
tce-load -wi Xprogs Xorg-7.6 icewm alsa mc iron getFlash11
Also, you may want to figure out how to make foreign fonts work, unless you're using a localized remaster of 4.7.7
Stupidium-365
 
Posts: 2
Joined: Fri Oct 04, 2013 6:37 am


Re: Iron Operating System and Security

Postby Stupidium-365 » Sat Oct 05, 2013 12:59 pm

oops, forgot to mention that my only known way of making Iron work with non-English fonts is to install LibreOffice (which makes the resulting OS quite big, and, due to lack of menu sorting, clutters up the Applications menu of Tiny Core. :( So, append "libreoffice" to the command string from my previous post.
Stupidium-365
 
Posts: 2
Joined: Fri Oct 04, 2013 6:37 am



Return to SRWare Iron Support (English)

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: Google [Bot] and 15 guests