Iron in the UserAgent

Iron Forum for english speaking people

Iron in the UserAgent

Postby enda » Mon Aug 13, 2012 8:07 pm

Doesn't having Iron/version_number in the UserAgent make the browser more easily able to be tracked?

https://panopticlick.eff.org/
enda
 
Posts: 3
Joined: Mon Jul 23, 2012 5:28 pm


Re: Iron in the UserAgent

Postby bksening » Sat Aug 18, 2012 2:44 pm

As far as I know, Iron browser/the developers DO WANT to have Iron in the user-agent, to make it at least that much trackable.

They DO WANT webservers, traffic analyzers, stats gatherers to know how many people are using Iron browser, and perhaps ideally for stats and/or testing, verifying, reviewing sites and services to know that Iron browser exists.

If you remove Iron from the user-agent, all usage would look like Chrome or Chromium browsers.
bksening
 
Posts: 53
Joined: Mon Aug 31, 2009 11:08 pm


Re: Iron in the UserAgent

Postby SRWare » Sat Aug 18, 2012 6:58 pm

If we would remove it, we would no longer be in browserchoice.eu.
If we would also remove the number, you could get problems at some website and/or extension.

But you can do this yourself with UA.ini.
Iron-Updates via Twitter: http://twitter.com/srware
User avatar
SRWare
Site Admin
 
Posts: 1668
Joined: Sat Jan 19, 2008 4:16 am



Return to SRWare Iron Support (English)

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: Bing [Bot], Google [Bot] and 13 guests