Iron Adblocker

Iron Forum for english speaking people

Iron Adblocker

Postby ligerTiger » Sun Nov 21, 2010 9:40 pm

Hello guys and thanks for a good browser !

I am newbie at computers so sorry for my stupid questions.

Is there an adblocker for the Iron that updates automatically like firefox adblock plus ?
I know that Iron has an built in adblocker but it doesnt update automatically, right ?
Have i also understood it right that too many adblockers slow down the Iron browser ?

Many Thanks ! :)
ligerTiger
 
Posts: 29
Joined: Sun Nov 21, 2010 9:24 pm


Re: Iron Adblocker

Postby ironuser » Mon Nov 22, 2010 12:18 am

1- I don't know of any that update automatically. Maybe one of the Google AdBlock extensions.
2- No, the built in ad blocker does not update automatically.
3- Yes, even two adblockers will slow things down. THat includes adding a blocker on top of a HOSTS file, or privoxy, or even an extension with the included ad blocker.

There are several threads here that offer ways to update the built in blocker with a double click on a file on your desktop. They threads are not very far down in this forum page. Read them for more information and the scripts. NOTE! you have to be a logged in member to download the script files from these forums.
http://www.srware.net/forum/viewtopic.php?f=18&t=1971
http://www.srware.net/forum/viewtopic.php?f=18&t=1950

BTW, AdBlock Plus for FIrefox really messes with the latest versions of Firefox I have on my machine. I wish Firefox had a built in adblock.ini file like Iron has.
I have found the built in blocker to have little or no effect on Iron's speed.
ironuser
 
Posts: 386
Joined: Mon Feb 01, 2010 12:29 am


Re: Iron Adblocker

Postby ironuser » Mon Nov 22, 2010 1:16 am

I also forgot to add that you can put the script in your Startup folder, and Windows should run it for you each time it starts up. I find it just as easy to put it on the desktop, and double click it before I start Iron.
Iron is growing, which may be unfortunate given that Firefox grew into a big, bloated, unfriendly POS with the 4.x beta versions. So give Iron a chance to mature a bit. It is still the fastest, and smoothest browser I have used, and I have been around since the 0.9 days of Netscape. Hopefully Googel won't screw the core of chromium up too badly that Chrome and Iron get to be like all the other browsers.
ironuser
 
Posts: 386
Joined: Mon Feb 01, 2010 12:29 am


Re: Iron Adblocker

Postby bulek » Mon Nov 22, 2010 10:40 am

Hi ligerTiger. Any (at least most popular such as AdBlock or AdThwart) adblocker installed as an extension can update itself automatically. As for slowdown I would advise you to try by yourself. It is very easy to install an extension and then try it out. If it does not suit you then uninstall and try another one. It's not a question if the Iron is slower, it's question of if the slowdown is acceptable for you. The automatic update and usage of many different adblocker definition files is an advantage that could be more important to you than experienced slowdown. It depends on your preference. I have just started using AdThwart qute recently and really don't have any performance problems. I do not measure a page load time with a stopwatch every time either... maybe that's why.
bulek
 
Posts: 91
Joined: Wed Jan 27, 2010 7:45 pm


Re: Iron Adblocker

Postby ligerTiger » Mon Nov 22, 2010 9:07 pm

Thank you very much for your fast replies !

From the link viewtopic.php?f=18&t=1971 I tried to download the attached file adblock_update.zip but i got the following answer "This webpage is not available"
I am using Administrator rights but it doesnt help.


And what is adblock_update.vbs ? Is it this list http://www.srware.net/downloads/adblock.ini ?

P.S. I have an old slow computer so i would like to get the best out of iron.
ligerTiger
 
Posts: 29
Joined: Sun Nov 21, 2010 9:24 pm


Re: Iron Adblocker

Postby ironuser » Tue Nov 23, 2010 12:43 am

Once logged into the forums, open this thread. http://www.srware.net/forum/viewtopic.php?f=18&t=1971
In the first post, at the bottom right is a link box labeled ATTACHMENTS to the adblock_update-zip by Scream81
Click on that link, and it should pop up a download window asking where you want it saved to.

I just tried it and it works.
The second post that has a 'mirror' link does not work for me.
Adblock_update.vbs is a Windows Scripting Host file that goes out and gets the text from Fanboy's site, changes it from Opera format to Iron format, and writes it to the path you have it set to write to. NOTE!! The adblcok.inin file MUST end up in the Iron Install directory.
ironuser
 
Posts: 386
Joined: Mon Feb 01, 2010 12:29 am


Re: Iron Adblocker

Postby ironfan » Tue Nov 23, 2010 8:46 am

Last late night overcame me this funny micro & soft code, simplifying it as terrible as possible.
Just for fun as another proposal:
Code: Select all
http = new ActiveXObject("Microsoft.XMLHTTP");
fso = new ActiveXObject("Scripting.FileSystemObject");
http.open("GET", "https://secure.fanboy.co.nz/opera/urlfilter.ini", false); 
http.setRequestHeader("Accept","text/html");
http.send();
f=fso.CreateTextFile("E:/IronPortable/Iron/adblock.ini", true);
f.Write((http.responseText.replace(/\*/g,"")).replace(/#/g,"# "));
f.Close();

As a *.js-file it needs the freaky windows host script.
ironfan
 
Posts: 77
Joined: Sun Dec 28, 2008 10:10 am


Re: Iron Adblocker

Postby ligerTiger » Tue Nov 23, 2010 9:49 am

Thank you !

I will try again when i get home from work.

A stupid question, when i have unzipped the adblock_update-zip is it the same as Adblock_update.vbs :?:
ligerTiger
 
Posts: 29
Joined: Sun Nov 21, 2010 9:24 pm


Re: Iron Adblocker

Postby ligerTiger » Tue Nov 23, 2010 9:56 pm

Hello !

I have done the following so far:

I unzipped the adblock_update.zip but i did NOT extract it to C:\Program Files\SRWare Iron , i extracted it to C:\my own files\downloads .
Is this right or should i had extracted it to C:\Program Files\SRWare Iron :?:

I forgot to tell you that i did the following http://downloadsquad.switched.com/2009/ ... ngle-file/ . Beacuse of this my adblock file is bigger than it was before.
Does this matter :?:

Many thanks !

P.S. I like this iron but this adblock update thing is way too complicated , it really should be automatic.
ligerTiger
 
Posts: 29
Joined: Sun Nov 21, 2010 9:24 pm


Re: Iron Adblocker

Postby ironuser » Wed Nov 24, 2010 12:58 am

@ligerTiger: Put the adblock_update.vbs file on your Windows desktop. That way you won't have to go looking for it to double click it.
Or try putting it in your Startup folder. That way it should update when you start Windows.

The link you gave above is to a site that points to a SRware web that that has Fanboy's adblock's in it. To be copied to the adblock.ini in your Iron install folder. That list is dated 28 Oct 2010, so it is way out of date.
IF you run the script, it should overwrite what is already in teh adblock.ini file. What you did essentially is duplicate some or all of the things there.

If you are going to copy and paste, go here for the iron version. https://secure.fanboy.co.nz/iron/complete/adblock.ini
Be aware, it is going to change soon as Fanboy is going do something to merge the Opera version to be used with Iron, or something like that.

Read ironfan's post above! It has a small script that can be copied and pasted in notepad, then saved as adblock.js to your desktop. It should accomplish the same thing as the other scripts. You will still need to double click it to get the job done.

You wrote above:
A stupid question, when i have unzipped the adblock_update-zip is it the same as Adblock_update.vbs

adblcok_update.vbs is a file that is 'compressed' to ZIP format, and when 'extracted' goes back to it's original size. Once extracted, you can put teh ZIP version somewhere to keep it safe for future use, or delete it if that is your preference.
ironuser
 
Posts: 386
Joined: Mon Feb 01, 2010 12:29 am


Next

Return to SRWare Iron Support (English)

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: Google [Bot], Yahoo [Bot] and 13 guests