Google updater

Iron Forum for english speaking people

Google updater

Postby MST » Wed Oct 20, 2010 9:37 pm

Hi,
I have IRON 6.475 installed,and was wondering what the google updater plugin is for?I was under the assumption,that IRON was stripped of all google connection.Sorry if this is a stupid question.
MST
 
Posts: 24
Joined: Wed Oct 20, 2010 9:30 pm


Re: Google updater

Postby SRWare » Wed Oct 20, 2010 10:23 pm

Iron contains no Google Updater. You maybe have Chrome installed parallely?
Iron-Updates via Twitter: http://twitter.com/srware
User avatar
SRWare
Site Admin
 
Posts: 1627
Joined: Sat Jan 19, 2008 4:16 am


Re: Google updater

Postby MST » Wed Oct 20, 2010 10:37 pm

SRWare wrote:Iron contains no Google Updater. You maybe have Chrome installed parallely?

I don't think so.I downloaded IRON from SRware.net.Says IRON in program files.Chrome has never been on my PC.


Google Update - Version: 1.2.183.39 is in my About:plugins
MST
 
Posts: 24
Joined: Wed Oct 20, 2010 9:30 pm


Re: Google updater

Postby SRWare » Wed Oct 20, 2010 11:11 pm

MST wrote:
SRWare wrote:Iron contains no Google Updater. You maybe have Chrome installed parallely?

I don't think so.I downloaded IRON from SRware.net.Says IRON in program files.Chrome has never been on my PC.


Google Update - Version: 1.2.183.39 is in my About:plugins


A clean iron plugins folder on an (nearly) empty OS looks like this:

Image

Maybe you are using any other google app, that has installed this plugin.
Iron-Updates via Twitter: http://twitter.com/srware
User avatar
SRWare
Site Admin
 
Posts: 1627
Joined: Sat Jan 19, 2008 4:16 am


Re: Google updater

Postby MST » Wed Oct 20, 2010 11:23 pm

I did not have the win media player plugin.Could i have picked it up thru a chrome extension? Also did not have the microsoft DRM plugin
Last edited by MST on Wed Oct 20, 2010 11:41 pm, edited 1 time in total.
MST
 
Posts: 24
Joined: Wed Oct 20, 2010 9:30 pm


Re: Google updater

Postby SRWare » Wed Oct 20, 2010 11:39 pm

MST wrote:Could i have picked it up thru a chrome extension?


Maybe. Just click Disable to stop it.
Iron-Updates via Twitter: http://twitter.com/srware
User avatar
SRWare
Site Admin
 
Posts: 1627
Joined: Sat Jan 19, 2008 4:16 am


Re: Google updater

Postby MST » Wed Oct 20, 2010 11:50 pm

SRWare wrote:
MST wrote:Could i have picked it up thru a chrome extension?


Maybe. Just click Disable to stop it.


I can do that,but it bugs me as to why/how it;s there and what it's actually doing.
MST
 
Posts: 24
Joined: Wed Oct 20, 2010 9:30 pm


Re: Google updater

Postby MST » Wed Oct 20, 2010 11:54 pm

Just looked in my" Default programs" in win 7,and it is listed as "CHROMIUM",is this correct?
MST
 
Posts: 24
Joined: Wed Oct 20, 2010 9:30 pm


Re: Google updater

Postby SRWare » Thu Oct 21, 2010 12:43 am

MST wrote:Just looked in my" Default programs" in win 7,and it is listed as "CHROMIUM",is this correct?


yes
Iron-Updates via Twitter: http://twitter.com/srware
User avatar
SRWare
Site Admin
 
Posts: 1627
Joined: Sat Jan 19, 2008 4:16 am


Re: Google updater

Postby negated » Thu Oct 21, 2010 4:29 am

I think I can answer this one.

If you've used video chat in gmail ever, you have this updater as well. Gmail uses it to keep the video plugin for gmail up to date.

I'm sure there are other ways gmail can install this updater, but that's the only google functionality I use when in gmail.

I have never installed Gtalk, etc.

-S
negated
 
Posts: 28
Joined: Sun Mar 07, 2010 9:31 pm


Next

Return to SRWare Iron Support (English)

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: Yahoo [Bot] and 20 guests