Add & Change Default Search Engines

Iron Forum for english speaking people

Add & Change Default Search Engines

Postby curlin » Mon Apr 12, 2010 2:07 pm

Trying to make https://ssl.scroogle.org/ my default search engine. Iron will let me add it but won't allow me to make it default. The "make default" button is greyed out.
curlin
 
Posts: 38
Joined: Sat Jan 30, 2010 12:54 am


Re: Add & Change Default Search Engines

Postby curlin » Thu Apr 15, 2010 12:53 am

no-one knows :o
curlin
 
Posts: 38
Joined: Sat Jan 30, 2010 12:54 am


Re: Add & Change Default Search Engines

Postby ironfan » Thu Apr 15, 2010 9:36 am

hi,
thanks - good info.
http://www.scroogle.org/ -> Chrome - wrench
works
ironfan
 
Posts: 77
Joined: Sun Dec 28, 2008 10:10 am


Re: Add & Change Default Search Engines

Postby bulek » Thu Apr 15, 2010 1:38 pm

When you define a new search engine you must use "%s" somewhere in the URL. This way you pass an argument of what you are looking for. I don't know how Scroogle could accept such parameter but lack of it in the URL causes your problem. As soon as you put "%s" somewhere to the URL you will be able to set it as a default.
bulek
 
Posts: 91
Joined: Wed Jan 27, 2010 7:45 pm


Re: Add & Change Default Search Engines

Postby curlin » Fri Apr 16, 2010 2:18 am

bulek wrote:When you define a new search engine you must use "%s" somewhere in the URL. This way you pass an argument of what you are looking for. I don't know how Scroogle could accept such parameter but lack of it in the URL causes your problem. As soon as you put "%s" somewhere to the URL you will be able to set it as a default.




I just found an earlier thread listing the solution and it works even with the ssl version.

Thanks

viewtopic.php?f=18&t=816
curlin
 
Posts: 38
Joined: Sat Jan 30, 2010 12:54 am


Re: Add & Change Default Search Engines

Postby alinescoo » Fri Apr 16, 2010 9:50 am

When try it to add the engine to search engine list using another browser, here is what I get

Scroogle Scraper
Address: https://ssl.scroogle.org/cgi-bin/nbbwssl.cgi
Query string: Gw=%s

Maybe it will help you
alinescoo
 
Posts: 13
Joined: Fri Aug 28, 2009 7:49 pm



Return to SRWare Iron Support (English)

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: Google [Bot], Yahoo [Bot] and 16 guests