Iron Profiles - the easy way (Windows)

Iron Forum for english speaking people

Iron Profiles - the easy way (Windows)

Postby ironuser » Sun Feb 07, 2010 1:54 am

Find your CHROMIUM folder, and copy the 'default' folder to another name. (Example, New-Name
Make a short cut on the desktop, and copy the following to the 'Target box.
"C:\Program Files\SRWare Iron\iron.exe" --user-data-dir="C:\Documents and Settings\Bill\Local Settings\Application Data\Chromium\User Data\New-Name"

This assumes Iron is in the Program Files, and that Chromium is in the Local Settings Application User Data folder.
You can add your command line switches after the last " mark and make sure a space is between them.
Example; --enable-extensions --ingognito
ironuser
 
Posts: 380
Joined: Mon Feb 01, 2010 12:29 am


Re: Iron Profiles - the easy way (Windows)

Postby z25blink » Mon Feb 08, 2010 2:21 pm

Iron and Chromium profiles are in the same folder :oops: :!:
z25blink
 
Posts: 67
Joined: Sat Nov 07, 2009 2:29 pm


Re: Iron Profiles - the easy way (Windows)

Postby ironuser » Tue Feb 09, 2010 1:17 am

z25blink wrote:Iron and Chromium profiles are in the same folder :oops: :!:

Do you also have Google Chrome installed?
As far as I know, the Chromium folder is for Iron. When I had Google Chrome it's profiles were in a folder labeled Google then down to another folder in that one. It may have been C:\Documents and Settings\USER\Local Settings\Application Data\Chrome. I don't remember the name. Sorry.
ironuser
 
Posts: 380
Joined: Mon Feb 01, 2010 12:29 am


Re: Iron Profiles - the easy way (Windows)

Postby ironuser » Wed Feb 10, 2010 3:32 am

OOPS! I left my user name in the documents and settings portion of the Target string n my OP.
Below is the corrected one, and you should put your name in before the Local Settings.
"C:\Program Files\SRWare Iron\iron.exe" --user-data-dir="C:\Documents and Settings\YOUR-NAME\Local Settings\Application Data\Chromium\User Data\New-Name"
ironuser
 
Posts: 380
Joined: Mon Feb 01, 2010 12:29 am


Re: Iron Profiles - the easy way (Windows)

Postby ironuser » Mon Feb 15, 2010 12:45 am

Well crap! I made a 'new profile' using the execute string in my previous posts, with the correct path to the executable and to the 'new' profile.

It worked, BUT, upon starting, Iron did not recognize my bookmarks and extensions that were copied too the new profile name.
I had to import the bookmarks(AGAIN), and then add in the extensions(AGAIN).
Appears to me to be a BIG BUG somewhere in there.
ironuser
 
Posts: 380
Joined: Mon Feb 01, 2010 12:29 am


Re: Iron Profiles - the easy way (Windows)

Postby valerish » Fri Apr 26, 2013 1:23 pm

Here is my solution:

1) If Iron asks to set itself as default browser - do it.
2) Run regedit and follow to these keys: HKEY_CLASSES_ROOT\Chromium.J5FPNQAYQH5D2OJOUZL73RPEPM and HKEY_CLASSES_ROOT\ChromiumHTM.J5FPNQAYQH5D2OJOUZL73RPEPM. They are sequent so it is relatively easy to find both.
3) In the first key open subkeys with paths \.exe\shell\open\command and \.exe\shell\opennewwindow\command and change the Default value to <YOUR_IRON_PORTABLE_FOLDER>\IronPortable.exe" -- %*
4) In the second key open subkey with path \.exe\shell\open\command and change the Default value to <YOUR_IRON_PORTABLE_FOLDER>\IronPortable.exe" -- %1

Pay attention to different endings: %* and %1! And dont forget to replace <YOUR_IRON_PORTABLE_FOLDER> with your actual Iron Portable path :)
valerish
 
Posts: 2
Joined: Fri Apr 26, 2013 1:11 pm



Return to SRWare Iron Support (English)

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: Bing [Bot] and 13 guests